Dumfries & Galloway Horse Driving Club

Website under construction 17/04/2018 - check again soon

2020 Indoor Driving Challenge Dates available on Events Page
We had a brilliant turnout of Junior Drivers at Newton Rigg a special WELL DONE to you all. 


                                       ********  STOP PRESS  ********

                               CANCELLED !!!

                         ARENA CHALLENGE, ROBGILL TOWER, 24TH OCTOBER 2021.


The remaining Arena Challenge for this year 7th November will start at the earlier time of 10.30am, course walk @10.00am, can all competitors please stay on the track until shown where to park by a committee member. Entry to club members only, payment secures place.

To enter please contact Hazel McLoughlin on 07871415700 payment via Bank Transfer;- DUMFRIES & GALLOWAY HORSE DRIVING CLUB. The Cumberland. Sort Code; 16 - 52 - 21. Account No;- 52370386 or return an entry form with cheque payment to Hazel McLoughlin, 2, Church Street, EGREMONT. { Entries only refundable on production of a valid Vet certificate.}

Adults £20, Juniors £10. 

Individual start times will be texted to all competitors.

Spectators are welcome, due to limited parking can you please travel with a competitor. Hot drinks are available.

Thank you for all your replies regarding arena usage at Robgill Tower. The committee have  decided for the remaining event not to change the present afternoon format. The course will be available for any competitor wishing to either just practise or to iron out a problem they would like help with.

We plan next year to use the afternoons for instruction to help with Dressage / Cone / Obstacle driving ready for the new outdoor / indoor season.

Dates for the 2022 Arena Challenges are TBA starting the end of Feb / March / April with a further three in Autumn.

While we have the use of the facilities at Robgill Tower if you know of either an Adult or Junior who would like to try carriage driving please contact us.

Many thanks to Anne for her invaluable work over the years running & updating the clubs Facebook page. Due to a change of direction in Anne's life she now feels its time to hand the reins over. Zoe Hodgson has kindly taken on the job. 

Dumfries & Galloway Horse Driving Club returns to its roots!

Many thanks to Mr & Mrs Forsyth - Allen for their warm welcome & use of their fantastic facilities on Saturday for the Clubs 1st Arena Challenge at Robgill Towers. A great day out for all our competitors.

Gordon built a lovely flowing course but cone 10 proved to be the bogey with only four drivers managing to negotiate it.

Full results & times can be found on the Events/Results page.

Multiples =  1st. Jen Bernard.

Open Horse =  1st. Gordon Watson.

Open Pony =  1st. Pat Watson.

                       2nd.  David Humes.

                       3rd.  Ted Chapman.

Novice Pony =  1st.  Tony Cockburn.

                          2nd.  Mandy Stead.

                          3rd.  Dougie Robertson.

                          4th.  Eillen Dunlop.


Thanks to the kind permission of Mrs.E.Forsyth - Allen  our Arena Challenges will be held in her 60 x 30m indoor arena situated at:- "Robsgill Tower," Kirtlebridge, Lockerbie, DG11 3ND.

Our Outdoor events have been extremely well supported both by competitors & helpers we therefore say a big THANK YOU to you all!!!

Placings were as follows;- 

FLOWDENS 2021;- 

Novice Full Course.1st.     Gilly Nicholson.

                                   2nd.    Christine Haddock.

                                   3rd.     Eillen Dunlop.

Open Full Course.     1st.      Carl Bevan.

                                  2nd.     Jen Barnard.

                                  3rd.      David Humes.

Short Course.            1st.       Terry Brogdon.

                                  2nd.      Tony Cockburn.

Multiples.               1st.      Jackie Parkinson.

Juniors.                   1st.      Daniel Moffat.

Best Dressage.       Carl Bevan.

Best Cones.            Pat Watson.

Best Marathon.      Carl Bevan.

Best Overall.         Carl Bevan.


Novice Pony, Full Course.    1st.   William Patterson.

                                                 2nd.   Alicia Fraser.

Novice Pony, Short Course.     1st.    Carolyn Fraser.

                                                 2nd.   Mandy Stead.


Open Pony, Full Course.          1st.    Carl Bevan.

                                                 2nd.   Daphne Taylor.

                                                 3rd.   David Humes.

Open Pony, Short Course.        1st.    Jen Barnard. {Rye}.

                                                 2nd.   Jen Barnard. {Pud}.

Novice Horse, Full Course.     1st.    Christine Haddock.

Beginners.                                1st.    Terry Brogdon.

                                                 2nd.   Ronnie Slack.

                                                 3rd.   Gilly Nicholson.

Juniors.                                     1st.   Matthew Powell.

Best Dressage.          Carl Bevan.

Best Cones.               David Humes.

Best Marathon.         Sue Corlett.

Best Overall.             Carl Bevan.


Novice Pony.        1st.      Gary Pigney.

                             2nd.     Terry Brogdon.

                             3rd.      Paul Wensley.

Open Pony.           1st.      Pat Watson.

                             2nd.     David Humes.

Novice Horse.       1st. Christine Haddock.


Open Horse.         1st.     Gordon Watson.

Best Dressage.     Gary Pigney.

Best Cones.         Gordon Watson.

Best Marathon.    Pat Watson.

Best Overall.       Gordon Watson. 

Congratulations to all our Trophy Winners of 2019. Well done!


 2019 Trophy Winners.

Memorial Quaich;- David Hodgson

Overall Marathon;-                     Pat Watson.
Best Cones;-                               David Calvert.
Best Dressage;-                          Drew Douglas.

Overall Open;-                           Pat Watson.
             Horse;-                          Gordon Watson.
             Novice;-                        Ted Chapman.
             Multiples;-                    Anna Grace.
             Beginners;-                   Paul Wensley.
             Junior;-                         Annelise Tirvengadum. 

Overall Indoor Champion;-       Ted Chapman { Josie }.
             Indoor Singles;-            Ted Chapman { Josie }.
             Indoor Multiples;-         Anna Grace.  

Indoor Junior League;-              Annelise Tirvengadum.
Outdoor Junior League;-           Annelise Tirvengadum.  

Carriage Driving in South West Scotland and North Cumbria.
Welcome to Dumfries & Galloway Horse Driving Club
Based in Dumfries and Galloway the club runs carriage driving events in south west Scotland and North Cumbria. 

The club has been in existence for over 30 years, started by driving enthusiasts looking for more excitement than the showing classes that were the norm in the mid seventies.

The club is run by enthusiasts for enthusiasts, not just for the competitive ones looking for experience before moving on to national competitions, but for drivers looking for a bit of fun and those who have been there, done it and are now just looking to drive and help bring on new drivers.

Our aim over the next few years is to encourage new people to enter the driving arena and together, develop our skills and competences.


Membership Form
Click below for membership form. Complete and return with fee.
Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible.
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.